Renewables and Energy Technology

Wind turbines, solar panels, home battery storage - if it's discussion about renewable energy you're after, you'll find it here.

Wind turbines, solar panels, home battery storage - if it's discussion about renewable energy you're after, you'll find it here.

VPP Solar Battery Costs Money To Run - An Engineer's Case Study

Player

Updated to 31st July 2018

Please read An Introduction to AC and DC Coupled Solar Battery Systems for an understanding of terms used in this document.

In this article I have compared 3.50 years of data from 5.2 kW of REC solar panels and an SMA 5000TL-21 solar inverter, installed on November 17th 2013, against 1.17 years of the same panels with an 11.6 kWh Sunverge SIS-7048 DC coupled solar battery, installed on 26th May 2017 as a part of the AGL Virtual Power Plant (VPP).

As a retired electrical engineer, I have always assumed that adding solar battery storage would result in significant savings, so I was amazed to find the addition of the battery is actually costing us money, no matter which way the data is examined.

The critical point to remember in solar battery economics is that the cost of a battery can only be covered by a reduction in imported peak energy costs, or an increase in exported feed-in revenue, or ideally both.  It is also very important to keep in mind that this is a case study based on comparing solar panels only to solar panels plus a battery.  It is not a study based on a new installation of panels and battery.

This is a detailed comparison of energy flows and costs for the period without a battery, versus the period with a battery, and provides three very clear reasons as to why we didn’t save money, and are not likely to do so in the future.