Renewables and Energy Technology

Wind turbines, solar panels, home battery storage - if it's discussion about renewable energy you're after, you'll find it here.

Wind turbines, solar panels, home battery storage - if it's discussion about renewable energy you're after, you'll find it here.

The Significant Cost Benefits of Solar Panels

Player

SUMMARY

A detailed case study based on actual data over 3.50 years in Adelaide from a 5.2 kW solar panel installation from 1st December 2013 to 21st May 2017 shows a saving in peak electricity costs of $1,712.55 per annum when compared to not having solar panels. 

INTRODUCTION

As a retired electrical engineer, I have maintained a very detailed spreadsheet of all our monthly electricity costs and energy flows since November 17th 2013, with the earlier quarterly bills converted on a pro rata basis into monthly data.  The analyses in this document are based on two retired people living in a three bedroom home, and all prices include GST, unless otherwise specified.  All spreadsheet data has been reconciled to the cent.  I have omitted controlled load (also known as ancillary, off-peak or J-tariff) in this document because it is not pertinent to solar energy generation and storage.

We added a Sunverge DC coupled solar battery when we joined the AGL Virtual Power Plant (VPP) on 26th May 2017.  From 17th November 2013 to 21st May 2017 we had 20 REC 260 watt panels with a total theoretical output of 5.2 kW.  The panels face directly north, they are not shaded, and they are at a pitch of 22.5 degrees above the horizontal.  We also had an SMA 5000TL-21 solar inverter from which I downloaded daily solar production data via Bluetooth.