Solar smart meter installation time

kev2108
Semiconductor
6 Replies 50565 Views

I had recently get my property solar installed and powered, and I was advised from the installer that I do not need to do anything rather than wait for apprx 2 weeks before the AGL guy comes for the smart meter installation (they would do all the neccessary paperworks, if any for such the meter installed on my behalf). Almost 2 weeks passed and heard nothing then I just rang AGL solar team and then been advised that the consumers need to contact their retailers for the smart meter arrangement themselves and also 27 business days which is the normal timeframe for installation since early this year 2018. Wondering if the above said is correct? Though I am rather new in solar arena, I just wanna make sure my investment on solar do a good job in terms of return on investment rather feeding the power back to the grid for nothing. Appreciate your advices. Thank you.

24 REPLIES 24
ZZ
Conductor
0 Replies 7323 Views

No wonder AER and AEMC and AEMO updated the National Electricity Retailer Rules (NERR) in 2018 to bring in new rules effective 1 February 2019 to the effect that retailers have a maximum of fifteen business days in which to get a new meter installed - days counted from when they receive the formal request from the customer or the customer's electrician or the electricity distributor.
The new rule explicitly applies to complex situations as well as simple situations; and the determination document and the public information sheet for the rule quote examples of complex situations, including 
"A complex meter exchange is when existing electricity meters are being replaced and connection alterations are required.  For example, where customers have bought an electric vehicle or a large air conditioner that requires three-phase electricity supply.