Monthly, seasonal and annual solar production data for Adelaide

Richard
Stellar
1 Reply 18472 Views

Updated to 31 March 2020

I am a retired electrical engineer and have compiled a spreadsheet based on 6.36 years of solar power generation in the Adelaide area.  We have 5.2 kW of panels on the roof, consisting of 20 REC 260 PE watt panels facing north at an angle of 27.5° above the horizontal, and with no shading. 

For the period from 17/11/2013 to 21/05/2017, I have used the daily solar energy production data from our original solar SMA 5000TL-21 inverter, downloaded via Bluetooth.   This inverter had an absolute maximum power output of 5.0 kW.

For the period from 26/05/2017 to 31/10/18, I have used the csv daily solar energy production data in AGL’s Solar Command from our Sunverge VPP DC coupled battery system.   This inverter had an absolute maximum power output of 4.7 kW.

Since 01/11/18, I have used the csv daily solar energy production data from our Fronius Primo inverter from solar.web.   This inverter has an absolute maximum power output of 5.0 kW.

It is important to understand that the power rating given by the manufacturers of solar panels will be an idealised number, and that the real power will be less than stated.  Also, the power output of solar panels typically decreases by between 0.4% and 0.5% for every degree centigrade rise in temperature above 25° C, so cool bright days are the best.  Roof mounted panels parallel to the roof can be expected to be 35 C° above the ambient temperature, so on a 40° C day in Adelaide, the panel temperature could be 75° C.  This is 50 C° above the test temperature of 25°C, leading to a decrease in power output of 20% to 25%.  Output also decreases as the panels age with time, albeit measured in decades for quality panels.