Renewables and Energy Technology

Wind turbines, solar panels, home battery storage - if it's discussion about renewable energy you're after, you'll find it here.

Wind turbines, solar panels, home battery storage - if it's discussion about renewable energy you're after, you'll find it here.

Highlighted

An Engineer's Case Study: Panels Are A Must, But Forget The Battery

Stellar

Updated to 31 March 2020

SUMMARY

I am a retired electrical engineer and have compiled a spreadsheet based on 6.36 years of solar power generation in the Adelaide area.  We have 5.2 kW of panels on the roof, consisting of 20 REC 260 PE panels facing north at an angle of 27.5° above the horizontal, and with no shading. 

For the period from 17/11/2013 to 21/05/2017 we had just the panels with an SMA 5000TL-21 inverter.  On 26/05/17 we joined the AGL VPP and installed a Sunverge DC coupled battery system.  On 01/11/18 the Sunverge system was replaced by a Fronius Primo 5.0 kW inverter and a Tesla 13.5 kWh Powerwall 2 battery.  Since 1st January 2019 I have downloaded detailed data from AGL Solar Command, Tesla, Fronius and AGL’s metering data.

A detailed analysis of this data showed that the annual savings from the panels without a battery was $2,063.96, and the annual savings from panels with a battery was $2,408.68.  All pricing includes GST. 

Thus the annual savings resulting from adding the battery was therefore the difference, $344.73.

If you are intending to install a solar system with a battery, make sure to take into account the purchase price and installation costs of the battery itself to see if it is worth installing.

The table below shows how long it would take to pay off a battery based on various battery costs and annual savings of $344.73.  You may also need to replace the battery after 10 years or so.

Table.jpg

ANALYSIS

The annual savings of $2,063.96 from the addition of solar panels only is detailed in The Significant Cost Benefits of Solar Panels, Table 8.