A Case Study Of Solar Panel Economics: 5 kW vs 10 kW

Richard
Stellar
0 Replies 4121 Views

Updated to 31 March 2020

SUMMARY

I am a retired electrical engineer, living in Adelaide, and involved in the AGL VPP.  On 01/11/18 our Sunverge system was replaced by a Fronius Primo 5.0 kW inverter and a Tesla 13.5 kWh Powerwall 2 battery.  We have 5.2 kW of panels on the roof, consisting of 20 REC 260 PE panels facing north at an angle of 27.5° above the horizontal, and with no shading.

I refer you to The Significant Cost Benefits of Solar Panels for further reading, and for those considering a solar battery, An Engineer's Case Study: Panels Are A Must, But Forget The Battery.

I have considered adding more solar production capability using our vacant east and west facing roofs.  In order to better understand the cost-benefits of this, I have analysed 1.42 years of data from 1 November 2018 until 31 March 2020.

In order to understand how much extra feed-in revenue would result from increased production, I have analysed 30 minute interval AGL Solar Command solar production data, and scaled it up, allowing for a maximum allowable SA Power Networks feed-in of 5 kW, using 1 kW increments in rooftop solar panels from 5 kW to 13 kW.

In order to understand how much our grid imports would be reduced as a result of increased production, I have analysed daily data to identify all those days when consumption exceeded production, and we would have imported grid energy.  Increased solar production will mean less energy imported on those days, and possibly fewer days on which imports are required.

ANALYSIS

Table 1.jpg

Table 1 above shows how the feed-in revenue increases as the panel power increases.  The revenue numbers in Row 3 are based on the estimated solar production in Row 2, and our current AGL feed-in tariff of $0.2000 per kWh.