Accounts and Billing

Search for answers relating to your AGL account or your AGL online services.

Search for answers relating to your AGL account or your AGL online services.

Highlighted

Why the expenses

Switched-on

Since 2014, having the smart meters installed into a property, I have noticed significant changes in pricing of both gas and electricity.. from having no amounts outstanding on bills..I now have a $6,700 debt... I live in a rental property, a property in which is owned privately. And pay excessive rent & higher bills. I would opt to have solar panels installed to reduce costs but unfortunately I am unable to decide or provide such systems. I am left with no options but to pay the highest amounts on bills. 

I am not an expert and do not understand the bills when they arrive. But I am however forced to pay what amounts that are outstanding. I have continuously payed using a payment plan. And those amounts have more than doubled. I don’t understand why I pay a fee of distribution to my property per day when this is not my property but states it is... those amounts are double dipping. I am aware the owner of the property also pays x amounts just not sure what they are and why I cover their expense of lines that connect their building. I cannot ever seem to manage my bills and do not ever use below what I’m expected to pay. Electricity is a nescessity in which is not luxury to pay & therefore is always needed and always important to pay until you die. Why are our accounts calculated in measurements that only the experts can understand? Is that so we pay more? I kB is how many MB? I MB is how many jB ? We used the same amounts as we used 15 years ago only technology now compared to before is measured in data usage rather than pure consumption? Yes our tvs are bigger and we have more internet computers ... they also are all measured in data ... has the Australian electricity /gas companies ever rewarded their clients significantly to say thank you? Have